3 responses to “Pages from: Julie Holcombe | The Greer Citizen

  1. Scott M. Brings Plenty

    I like the pages overall. I do agree with Ed that the Mistral typeface is very hard to read. But, nice work!!

  2. Kristin Coker

    Hi Julie, I loved the pages, but, (yes there’s a but) I think the shadow behind the photos was a little too much. I would have lightened it just a bit. A little dark for me. Plus, using the effect on every single picture kind of makes it not that special.

  3. Julie,
    I actually like the use of Mistral in the word ‘Journeys’.It brings attention to the word and gives it a sense of fluid motion. *But* I think I would have chosen a more readable font for the subtitle.
    On page two: the text layout seems a bit disorganized. I think I might have tried to group the boxes so they were flush at the top, or bottom, rather than staggered as they are now. I do like the type treatment for the ‘known for’ pull out.
    on page three: I like the typography treatment for the “churches & History” line of text. The remainder of the text leaves me a little underwhelmed. It’s all the same size and typeface. Maybe a use of bold page numbers on the index somewhere to make it stand out?
    This is a good looking section- I think it just needed some tweaking.

Leave a Reply

