Putting our fonts on the table


WE ALL HAVE our favorite typefaces. Well, we ought to! My favorites usually run to the serifs: Kepler, Photina, Bodoni, Baskerville, Garamond Condensed. But then, I’m also partial to some sans serifs: Akzidenz Grotesk, Antenna, Vonnes, Tasse.

And then, there are some I like…but struggle with because they are sooooo overused: Helvetica, Times, Myriad. They, of course, are on the “Periodic Table of Typefaces” created by the folks at squidspot.com.

Which leads me to the following question (I may live to regret this!): What is your favorite typeface…and why? Don’t tell me you don’t have one! As I stated earlier…we all ought to!

My favorite? Easy: Kepler. Uhhh…with Photina running a v-e-r-y close second. Kepler is elegant, stately, classic. Photina is a bit more playful but still neat and stylish. Kepler is Faith Hill in a slinky black dress with diamonds. Photina is…well…Faith Hill again—but in cowboy boots and jeans and a rhinestone-studded tank top. Either one is a class act.

So, what typeface turns you on?

7 Comments

Filed under Typography

7 responses to “Putting our fonts on the table

  1. Kristin Coker

    We use Quisoco Two for our typeface. Not in love with it. My favorite would be Nimrod.
    For headlines we switch between a sans Benton typeface and a serif Minion typeface.

  2. David Merrill

    When I was working with coated paper in magazines, I could use fonts like Baskerville and Bodoni, whose thin serifs and transitional strokes could lend an air of elegance, especially in italics. But on newsprint, those thin lines break too easily, and the weight relationships between thin and thick are too often distorted.

    So, for newsprint, my favorite serif is Charter. I like Nimrod, too, for that same reason and for its x-height, but Charter has just a little more sparkle.

    Among sans-serif fonts, my favorite is Placebo (from one of the designers of my old friend Friz Quadrata). It has that same sort of sparkle,.and it’s great for body text (especially very small) as well as heads. The bold is very heavy, and it’s elegant and almost cocky in a tongue-in-cheek sort of way But I suppose I’m going to have to make my own bold italic, because I haven’t found one yet.

  3. I take it Comic Sans is not an option…or Snowcap…
    Personally, I like Frutiger for its wide range of font styles. And call me old fashioned but I still go back to Futura for ad work. I especially like Futura Light for “girly” ads or a minimal look with lots of white space. Other older fonts I like are Optima and Goudy Oldstyle. Optima lends well to medical ads and Goudy for banks or businesses.
    For a serif font body text, I lean to Minion but you introduced me to Photina and it was love at first sight.

  4. Denise Jorgensen

    I am prepared to be beaten here, but I really enjoy times I can use Rapier. It’s just so energetic. But for day-to-day, I like Franklin and Goudy. They’re readable but not too stuffy.

  5. Karen.

    Minion Condensed. (Plain old Minion won’t do.)

  6. I only work on the web, so I approach fonts with a different set of criteria that print, but my favorite font – used in headlines – is definitely CHUNK FIVE: http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/ChunkFive

    It’s BIG, it’s BOLD, and it has tons of ATTITUDE.

    I overuse that funky font like an old t-shirt, but I can’t stop!

  7. Covarr

    I absolutely adore Calibri. Even though it was primarily designed for screens rather than print (and boy oh boy does it play well with ClearType), I’ve found that even in print it’s easy to read and works particularly well at small sizes where many fonts fail. Although, like Craig, I mostly work on the web so screen readability is a high priority for me.

    I wouldn’t use it for headlines, though. The rounded edges, hardly noticeable at smaller sizes, stick out like a sore thumb on anything too big.

Leave a Reply

