6 responses to “Worth breaking my own rule

  1. I LIKE!
    I get the swirly-thingies; they pull my eye to the headlines. Purple: a liturgical color used to symbolize Advent and Lent, hence Jesus’ ministry time; His teachings. (Good choice, Kristin!) And yes, my publisher would hyperventilate because space is money.

    • Kristin Coker

      Thank you Karen, you are right about both points. And to answer Ed’s question about anchoring in the headline, then I guess I should have put the jump page with the front too, because it was a term the faith teacher had used at the end of the story, which was on the jump page.

  2. Barry Hoff

    Very well done! Excellent choice of headline font. The swirly-thingies and the subhead spacing work very well to create an ornate cross. Again, well done.

  3. Denise Jorgensen

    Our publishers would have wanted us to put ads down either side of the copy. -sigh-

  4. Jack

    I like this quite a bit, especially for a “Sunday Magazine” section. And unless it’s a Christmas pageant or a well-organized VBS, church pages have a reputation of being a pain in the cross to lay out.

    That being said, I don’t think I would’ve been able to do this. Our publisher HATES negative space of any kind, which frequently leads to disputes.
    “Why is that space so big?”
    “It’ just a three-pica space to offset the large feature photo from the rest of the page. It looks better.”
    “I don’t like it.”
    “Trust me, it looks better.”
    *grumble* *grumble* *grumble*
    *walks away*

    • I know exactly what you’re talking about. For years, I worked for a managing editor who was visually brain dead. To him, negative space was just space that hadn’t been filled yet…with words!

Leave a Reply

