4 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Kristin Coker

    Ed, don’t you know. Women rule the world. Ok, I’m just joking.

    The photo was actually taken at a local school that was honoring the teachers in the school for their character trait contributions to the community; hence, the lack of men in the photo, but there are boys. I should have put a promo with the picture for the main story inside, but I didn’t want to junk up the bottom, so I left it out.
    Also, the gray pic behind the title is the outline of our county in South Carolina. It is a part of the Community of Character logo and I didn’t want to not use it. I hope that clears up some of the confusion. :-)

  2. I really like the whole design, especially the 10. But I’m also curious about what happened on the press. Just got through identifying what not to do for next year because we had some issues on the bleedthrough (despite taking off overprint black) darkening up lighter elements when it printed.

    • Kristin Coker

      I’ve also learned through the years what I can do versus what the press will do. Fortunately for me, I know what colors will bleed through and what won’t. The black wasn’t as dark as I would have liked it, but it was darn close. I didn’t want to run the risk of using anything else other than black because I knew those letters and words would have looked obliterated with color.

  3. Michael Smith

    Hey Kristin. Great page as always! The picture doesn’t bother me as much as it does Ed – the few complaints we do get in this business are of far more trivial matters – but I’m wondering if something as simple as a cutline would’ve been appropriate for the photo? BTW I knew that was a cutout of Orangeburg County lol. We ran county cutouts in a recent graphic!

Leave a Reply

