4 responses to “Page from: Alicia Strieber | Vadnais Heights Press

  1. I apologize for heaping it on, so to speak, but I have two additional nits. From a readership standpoint, I think the columns are too wide for the two stories on the center of the page. I think I’d shift everything onto a 5-column front instead of using such wide column widths for the stuff in the middle. It’s hard for the reader’s eye to follow columns that are that wide and that have that much text. (Although my aging eyes could be a factor). The second (and much smaller nit) is the mug in the center of those two columns. To me, it makes the centerpiece look kind-of boring — too balanced, I think.

  2. Michael Smith

    1 – no bona fide centerpiece. Headlines seem too small.
    2 – centerpiece needs dominant art. Without dominant art page is gray and static
    3 – I don’t like front page ads above the fold. There has to be a line drawn on that. I’m not bothered by wordy ads. When the client is paying, good design sometimes goes out the window. Many times the advertiser requests that. But ads above the fold go too far in my opinion.

    • I believe the line has been drawn on placement of ads on the front page. And that line is: anywhere the advertiser is wiling to pay for it. I don’t say that’s good…or bad. I just state it as a fact of life.

  3. Scott M. Brings Plenty

    I was an anti-ad on the front page guy until recently. I took the family on a trip to Williamsburg over spring break this year and had the chance to see several old (1700s, early 1800s) paper fronts, and they were heavy with advertising.

    Just this past weekend, I saw a Boston paper from 1820 in an antique store, and well over half of the front page was advertising.

    So, it is definitely not anything new…it’s aggravating to see sometimes, but it has been done from the start apparently.

Leave a Reply

