8 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Kristin Coker

    Your eye is playing tricks on you Ed. The envelope is actually a picture of the new envelopes that the Academy Awards were debuting this year. It is a cutout from an AP photo that the Associated Press had sent with its story.

  2. Marc Stumbo

    I agree with Ed, a photo of the Oscar would be better. It could have been screened back or given some other visual treatment. I wish the movie logos on the left popped out of the tan background in some fashion, either on the left or right, and a solid vertical bar behind the logos might have been a better choice. I am not terribly bothered by the position of the “THE” but it almost visually lifts up the letter “O” and makes it look like it isn’t seated on the baseline. The copy is very gray; an additional line space between the bullets would have opened things up and setting the movie name in sans black and a point or two larger would have helped alleviate the grayness. A bigger bottom photo might have balanced the page a bit more as well.

  3. I do think Ed is being a little to critical. I like the “the” in the Oscar, and if I were a reader picking up the paper, I would definitely want to read further.

  4. I don’t know, Ed, maybe I’m easily impressed. The big red Oscar didn’t bother me. It implied the star-studded red carpet to me. I agree about the hosts’ placement on the page. The wrap-around isn’t too jaggy and it’s easy to read. (Hard to read wrap-arounds are a pet peeve.) The gradient doesn’t bother me either. To be nic-picky, I would have reduced the white spacing in the gradient for a less glossy look. I don’t like the red arrows; I would have used stars for the winners.
    What do you do with a big O? If there’s not something in it, it reads “O-Scars” to me – yuck. (Since I saw means there’s something wrong visually there.) Personally, I would centered the O over the gradient box. Maybe a Hollywood star placed behind the O at a slight angle, with the “The” in place of the actor’s name on the star, would be a possible solution.
    But overall, I like the feel of the page layout.
    (I’m new here -I’d like to see what Kristin has done in the past.)

  5. Agree with Ed, mostly, especially regarding the gradient screen — too busy with all the other disparate elements. Would’ve like to have seen the actual statue, too, though it’s a bit of a design cliche. The clipping path on the statue is jagged.

    Notice the arguments about the big “O”? Good reason to do away with it and make point size match the rest of the headline. And because this is such a vertical design, a wider, non-condensed font should be used to counteract the verticality. “The” in the “O” doesn’t work; with the “O” the same size as the rest of the letters, “The” would have sat nicely right above it.

    Good placement of hosts.

    The page would have been better served by matching font treatment of the Best Picture selections, with small photos from the movies; the movies logos make it look too busy. The font treatment of the Best Picture and Best Actor should match. (I don’t like the envelope, even if it is the real thing, because it doesn’t LOOK like a real thing.)

    Then below that I would have liked to have seen Best Actor AND Actress lists at the bottom, type only. Putting the men only out front is an implicit judgment of gender importance that only a woman could have gotten away with. ;-)

  6. Expanding on what Tim said about “Best Picture” and “Best Actor”, maybe you could’ve put that same color bar on top of the envelope but below the “Best Picture” type to blend the two titles together. Maybe this will eliminate the fake looking envelope problem, since the color bar would cover part of it.

    I also don’t mind the red Oscar and think it works well with the cutout of the actors. I agree with Marc that the copy seems a little gray. Maybe another movie photo?

    Great job though. I always enjoy seeing your pages!

Leave a Reply

