4 responses to “Pages from: Larry See | The Meade County Messenger

  1. Hi Larry! Think of it this way… By removing the color elements, you’re decreasing the amount of work that has to be done as you assemble a page (and other pages) while at the same time, you’re increasing the amount of white space on your page.

    For the longevity feature, I’d suggest branding it (assuming it is a series on older residents) and giving it the most interesting headline that could come from the story. In our paper, we call it “Living Treasures.” Larry – send me an e-mail and I’ll send you a PDF.

    On A1, the dominant story should be obvious, and I keep coming back to the page trying to decide between police chief, trail and leadership. Just add some white space and vary the size of your headlines and I think you’ll see a big difference.

  2. Kristin Coker

    Ed, I think you’ve hit all the points that I was concerned about. Definitely too much color.

  3. Scott M. Brings Plenty

    It’s nice to see someone, like myself, who is also “doing it all” (writing, taking photos, design, etc.)…I stunk, absolutely stunk, at design when I first started. I still don’t consider myself all that adept at it, but I’m really trying and hopefully getting a little better along the way.

    I think being able to understand all of the processes involved in what makes a story and what makes a page will make someone a better designer.

    That said…I agree totally with Ed that there is too much color here. I have 100% fallen into the same trap of, “Hey, we can use color now…let’s use it everywhere!!” LOL The paper I work for printed our first color edition in 2007 if that tells you anything…what a nightmare at first…dang…kids in candy stores…

    On the Community page, I would have taken the bottom photo and made that the lead photo. It shows action. It shows faces. It shows emotion. It’s a good photo. The top posed photo is decent, but I have a serious aversion to posed photos…just a pet peeve of mine.

    Also, I like the swimming photo, but were there no action shots as well? A keen action shot of her swimming would have really made the entire page for sure.

    Keep up the good work and keep on keeping on for us small-town, community journalists! :)

  4. I don’t know that I would pull out as much color as Ed would, but things like the pull quote in red and blue are a bit hard on the eyes. I would have used a photo for the park teaser. There is also a good bit of white space to the right and left of the nameplate on the front that could be used so the teasers don’t look suspended. I differ with Ed in that I think three teasers are fine.

    I’m in the minority here, but I do think the color borders can work well if the colors are consistent.

Leave a Reply

