9 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Kristin Coker

    Thanks Ed for the criticisms. To answer your question, yes, my publisher and editor pretty much give me free reign on most of my designs. Being the lead designer helps a bit too. That doesn’t mean that I throw everything out the window. It just means I can stretch my limitations on occasion.

  2. Josh

    This is a great page. I agree with Ed that the background is perfect – it adds to the page but doesn’t confuse things any. The clipping on Harry jumped out at me. With the advances in Photoshop, it’s really easy to cut out a pic. Do you have PS CS3 or later? The quick selection tool makes quick work of clipping pics, unlike the old days when you had to use the magic wand and lasso tools. And the placement of Voldemort is perfect. The page tells the story.

  3. Scott M. Brings Plenty

    Great page! I really enjoyed it.

  4. Jeanette

    I think it looks great! Very nice! Some people at the Peoria Journal Star and even some on my staff at TimesNewspapers have put images over the newspaper’s name. I can’t get used to that.

    • Wow. I think you should get past that! A suggestion: try it yourself on a page you do soon. It’ll do you some good to push yourself out of your comfort zone.

  5. Marc Stumbo

    Love the page. However, I would have messed with the runarounds more to be more consistent – they are VERY important to the flow of the copy and should be consistent … and have elbow room AND the same amount of elbow room. The runaround around Harry’s head and the area where the picture/cap/headline meet his lapel is too tight. Sometimes you just have to force the copy with hand-drawn boxes – runaround parameters in your layout program don’t always get you what you want.

    The white border around Harry is totally distracting to me – what’s with that? And the color density of Harry’s trousers and even his hand looks washed out … that’s distracting also. Looks like you could have punched up the contrast using a Pshop mask … ultimately it would be less distracting and potentially something that would not take away from your design.

    The only other thing that bothers me (and this is really nitty) is the poofs of gray clouds around the outside. They all enter at about the same place and extend into the layout about the same amount. I think the poof should have been a bit more random and more diverse in size, with some of them extending well into the layout for a more realistic effect.

    An awesome page that could have been awesomer … It’s all in the details…

  6. Jeremy Morlock

    Wow… as a whole, this is a very impressive package.

  7. Another awesome page Kristin. In this case, the “funky” font is totally appropriate since that’s the typeface used in the Harry Potter movies, books and even the new ride at Universal Studios. The page is designed for Harry Potter fans (or anyone curious about Harry Potter), so I like the font treatment!

Leave a Reply

