3 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Laurie Swenson

    I really like most of this, but it occurred to me that the three photos are plugged in like a more standard layout, when the top of the page looks anything but standard. Maybe some of the text could have flowed around a photo or two? (Just a thought; I think you did a great job, and I would probably have done the photos similarly.)

    Oddly, I like the text in the red but not as much in the white. I think it looks a bit too happy in the white, but suitably creepy (like blood dripping, maybe?) in the red.

    I like the webby black bottom. I think it completes the picture well. I suppose it could have had some art in it like the web stuff, but I like it in general.

    I love the treatment with the web throughout the page.

    Love the green head!

  2. Love the page Kristin. With the utmost respect to Ed, I like the “funky font” but only because I think it works well here. Normally, I’m a stickler for fonts too. Besides, I did something similar for Halloween! I’ll send that page pretty soon.

    I do agree in adjusting the edge-to-edge nature of the photos. A pica here, a pica there is about all. Always love your pages Kristin!

  3. Kristin Coker

    Ed, I agree. I loved the top, but, when it came to doing the bottom I didn’t want to overdo it and I guess I went the safe way. I wish I could have extended the web all the way down the page but I also wanted to keep it in synch with the photo. I kept going back and forth with it.
    Also, the print version was absolutely on point. The web didn’t interfere with the type at all. It was light enough that it gave the effect I wanted without being too noticeable.

Leave a Reply

