9 responses to “Page from: Marah Pahl | Kanabec County Times

  1. Marc Stumbo

    The cut-out Summertime Fun photo is anything but fun … the little girl looks to be in distress. Out of the chute I am feeling bad for her … And all that’s below “Guilty” – and then a continued (no initial cap) subhead and then a three bank (3rd level subhead?) with the the first two lines flush left and the third indented … is this a style?? (On second look it appears these lines may be centered … REALLY need a style sheet for that.) All that going on in the top left diverts me from everything else on the page. Then there’s 4 items at the bottom of the page to deal with and a wicked widow at the top of the 2nd col of the Five Local Kids piece. My eyes hurt … gotta go look at something else …

  2. I really like the cutout of the little girl (bobbing for apples, I’m assuming???) but I would have made that package bigger, made the headline bigger (and not red) and put the scholarships and half-marathon story inside. There’s a lot of gray and bumping headlines on the bottom of the page.

    I try to avoid widows and orphans (although that seems a lost cause by now), but I find it even more distracting to jump in the middle of a paragraph. I don’t think the reader gets the chance to properly assess the information in that paragraph if he or she has to wait to finish a sentence until the jump.

    • A couple of points of reax to Laurie’s comments:
      1. Never give up on demanding that widows and orphans be fixed! Otherwise, our entire civilization fails! OK, maybe it’s not that bad…but to “settle” for widows and orphans is like saying it’s OK for people to show up at a restaurant (any restaurant..even a McDonald’s or Chick-Fil-A) with their torn and dirty T shirt hanging out of their shorts…and their gut hanging out of the bottom of the T shirt. It’s just enough to make others gag.
      2. I always jump in the middle of a paragraph. To end the first part of the story with the end of a paragraph is inviting readers to stop reading right there. Jumping in the middle of a paragraph nudges them to continue inside. That said..if I were king, I would n-e-v-e-r jump a story. But I gave up years ago on insisting that my clients not jump. Now that is a lost cause.
      Thanks for letting me ride your coattails on this one Laurie. Ed

      • I never thought about nudging the reader. Food for thought.

        That said, widows and orphans seem so common in both newspapers and magazines I read that I figured they were a lost cause. Is there a way to monitor this activity and/or the approach(es) to it?

        • The only way I know of to “monitor” this is to require those who assemble pages to look for them—and fix them. Fixing widows and orphans is a level of carefulness that marks us as professionals. If we don’t notice—and don’t fix—them, we haven’t yet reached that level.

  3. Kristin Coker

    I agree with Ed but I also have to be extra nitpicky. Your cutout of the little girl needs to be anchored to a line or something. You shouldn’t leave a cutout, (especially one that is cut at the waist), free-floating in the air.

  4. I like that you’re daring enough to put GUILTY in all caps and to do a huge cutout on the front. I like your guts, but the rest of the page needs a cleanup and an established format. A bit gray, like earlier stated, and too many words in the first headline as stated. Yes that dala horse on top has to go. there’s something about putting it over a murder that’s just really uncomfortable. Who is Jay ? the byline is not correctly stated. No title, no email ? I’d limit 4-5 stories on front not 6. it’ll make your job easier and the result cleaner.

  5. also – the centered story really bothers me. seems like a poem could maybe get away w/centered treatment…

Leave a Reply

