Pull quotes: some options

TAKING A WEEK OFF from commenting on pages. But we need more pages for comment…so send yours in!

A couple of months ago, I mentioned that I think pull quotes with oversized quote marks are dated. They still feel v-e-r-y 1960s-1970s to me. I’m not as turned off by them in magazines but I think they’re distracting in newspapers. Perhaps I’m a bit to persnickety about that but it’s not a look I recommend to any of my clients.

My “dated” comment was focused on a quote I saw on a page from Jeanette Kendall of Times Newspapers. When she responded with more pages, Jeanette later wrote: “You made the comment on one of our papers that the over-sized quotes were outdated for a pull quote. I am wondering what an updated design would look like.”

Here’s the quote, lifted from Jeanette’s page:

Following are some options I designed recently. They’re all set in fonts of Formata and Arno Pro, two typefaces I’m using in a current redesign project.

You can like ’em…or not. That’s up to you. But I think they’re clean and contemporary…and, yes, I did mean for F to be flush right. Someday, we can do a whole ‘nother post on that!

Certainly willing to hear your feedback—especially from you, Jeanette!

3 Comments

Filed under Design

3 responses to “Pull quotes: some options

  1. Thanks for responding, Ed. I hate to burst your bubble, but my first thought is that these quotes did not jump out at me, but perhaps that’s because I am not seeing them with text. I like B and D best. I like B because it appears to be in a white box, which I think would highlight the quote more, and I like D because I think the gray line helps to set it off. Does anyone else have some quote box samples to post? Thanks again Ed!

    • Jeanette: I think you’d see that any of these has impact if they were set in text. Remember that we want pull quotes to have some impact but not so much that they distract. It’s a fine line and I think these are right on that line. Still, it would be fun to see samples from others, as you suggest.

  2. We use a rendition that’s similar to C. It works well. (We used a shadowed box up until our redesign about 18 months ago but found that with the increasingly narrow web, it simply took up too much space.)

Leave a Reply

