6 responses to “Pages from: Jamie Sloper | St. Maries Gazette Record

  1. Bob

    Jamie:

    I mostly agree with Ed. A few other points:

    Page 1: Although the storm photo may be more newsy, my guess is that the technical quality may have not allowed a bigger play. Re the headline schedule, I would suggest at least tightening up the type: you need more type contrast.

    Page 2: Lines on a page can’t be used to both separate and connect. The vertical line between the top story and the “What it would cost” factoid and even the one to the left of “Teachers” are unnecessary. Cut them.

    Page 3: I would add a stronger vertical photo to the mix. Photos are good, but many are similar in the size of the subjects pictured. A nice close-up — maybe of a child’s hand and the hand of a veteran together holding a flag — and/or a long shot would have helped and would have added to the presentation.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Bob
    @newsdesign

  2. Kristin Coker

    Definitely need a nameplate redesign. Too cute for a credible newspaper. Play around with some different designs and submit them to Ed. Would love to see what you came up with.

  3. Lauri Shillings

    • Nameplate: needs some love for sure. Looks a little like a special section tab.
    • Tighten up the photos- cropping. I love the tribal/vet memorial pic. You could have cropped in the sides on this and focused on that monument a bit more for more impact.
    • I like the body copy typography of the first 2 pages. very consistent and clean… minor tweaks with centering etc… Not so hip on page 3- does the 10 questions go with the photos? I think I would have made this a side column or two.
    • Overall a pretty good effort.

  4. Wyndi

    I absolutely love the way the extra information is pulled out beside the lead story on the second page. It’s not in a box, and I love it. I also agree the masthead (while cute) can’t be taken seriously. Your photos are really good!

  5. Wow! Thanks for all your comments. I really appreciate all of you taking a look at these pages and giving me some feedback. As with any designer (at least I hope it’s not just me), I find that I’m in quite the slump and need some extra motivation… and this definitely helps!

    What’s a good font for body copy? Right now we’re using Utopia. Also, any suggestions on headline fonts?

    I agree – our photographers do a darn good job.

    As for the nameplate I will have to run that one by the big guy… family-owned newspaper which has been in the family for generations. The publisher’s grandpa’s grandpa’s grandpa probably designed it. We’ll see how far I can get…

    Thank you all again – I will definitely be submitting more pages in the future.

Leave a Reply

