3 responses to “Pages from Stephen Pierotti | Gunnison Country Times

  1. I’d want to see a single ‘big’ headline on a page… right now it’s hard to tell what the most important story is. I agree with the tint – the only time I use it is for sidebars.

  2. Adding to Ed’s comments, which I agree upon 95%:

    Page 1… the rules… soooo many rules. It actually becomes hard for me to tell where packages end and begin because the byline and jump line use graph rules across the entire column. It becomes especially amplified on the story that has a 2col. span in the upper right. In maybe 3 inches of space there are three 2col. rules bisecting the story.

    Less is more. If rules are going to define the bounds of packages, there is no need to define elements within the package with them as well. The byline and jump line would be just as effective with no rules, just the spacing above and below that’s already there.

    PLUS, if you eliminate the rules on copy elements, you can thin down the divider rules between packages – the weight of which might have been fine back in the hand-set says when we used line tape, but are far too chunky for a modern design.

    Further amplifying Ed’s comments on headlines: Franklin Gothic is a HUGE font family, with a large variety of weights, so long as you are using the actual branded typface. It’s one of the reasons it was chosen at the last publication I redesigned. Stories should be given a higher or lower heirarchy based on the headline weight. If you want to stay with the condensed for copy count, no problem, but use the weight variance from light to black.

    Now, for the 5% I didn’t agree with Ed: I have no problem with a gratuitous dingbat, so long as it’s unobtrusive and seems logical. I don’t mind the character on the jump line. Though, it would make it more logical to me to place it after the type, rather than before.

    I do like the way it echoes the color of your dateline. I am assuming you keep the color used in each section consistent from issue to issue? Color coding in a subtle way is good, in my opinion, because it suggestively trains your reader base to predict the content of the section based on the color they see. Don’t make them too bright or “out there,” like the almost kelly green one – darken that one to a more forest hue, and keep it the same relative value as the others in the sample.

  3. Ed, Michael and Todd — thanks for the comments.

    I just sat down with my designer and went over everything. We both agree that the teasers and rules can be addressed.

    We also agreed to ditch the color screens except for insets or sidebars — parts of the story, never the story again.

    Our colors are minimal (once you get past the teasers) and the conversion from CMYK files to RGB doesn’t accurately reflect what our palette looks like.

    Regarding headlines. After I sent these pages in I started to notice that our headlines had little variation. Thanks for the reminder to get off my duff and do something about.

    You can easily view all of our 2010 A1 covers on our Facebook page.

    Thanks again for the comments.

Leave a Reply

