4 responses to “Page from: Mary Judson | Port Aransas South Jetty

  1. Thanks for the feedback. It’s very helpful. Question, do you have any ideas for breaking up long, gray stories other than with the “drop quotes?”
    Also, we’re on the wide web (our printer isn’t going to the narrow web), so I initiated the news highlights on the right column to create a sense of narrowness with the middle columns. I think it would get too busy to duplicate the photo teasers I use on the right, so, any other suggestions?
    And thanks so much for the help!

    • Barry Hoff

      A couple of questions. Why do you want to look narrow? My understanding is that the industry went narrow because of cost not design. Personally, I wouldn’t try to look narrow just to be like everybody else.
      I’m also curious if there was a reason you ran the “At long last:” package at the bottom? I don’t want to know what the reason was, I’m just giving you the benefit of the doubt that you had a reason.

      • Why narrow? Because it’s new — if that’s a good reason. Hindsight is 20-20. The ‘legs’ story was a feature, so my thought was to put news at the top. A couple of hours after going to press I was kicking myself.

  2. Here’s a few thoughts not mentioned earlier. I see the standalone photo and the feature package use huge sans serif headlines. It’s better to use sans serif for the lead and serif for everything else. Also there’s no dominant photo. Both photos are visually compelling, but I would’ve picked one photo to run 4-5 columns (probably the skateboarder) and the other 2-3 columns. Also having the skateboarder photo seems to collide with the sun in the nameplate. Both photos are excellent photos, however, which is why I see why you wanted to play them big. Great work to the photographer.

Leave a Reply

