Poll: Your pet peeve as a designer

IT’S BEEN A WHILE since we’ve had a poll here, and I think I have one with a topic that will get your juices flowing (or your blood boiling!).

Here’s the question: What’s your pet peeve as a designer? Now, there are all kinds of possible responses to this one, but I’m going with my favorite four. You can offer something different, if you want, under “other.” I don’t think this is going to be a tough one for you to answer. Unfortunately, you can only pick one.

Have fun!

If you have any ideas for poll topics, please pass them on. I’d like to try running a poll every couple of weeks or so.

6 Comments

Filed under Poll | survey

6 responses to “Poll: Your pet peeve as a designer

  1. Marc Stumbo

    Hi Ed,

    We are going to downsize from a 15” tab to a 12.5” tab.

    One of NJ’s other Catholic newspapers, the Catholic Spirit, has gone to 13” and done a redesign.

    They have done something I haven’t seen in a long time – page folios on the edges of the pages. Obviously this allows you to utilize the full vertical image area of the page but it struck me as both weird and a solution to making our 1/8, 1/4, 1/2 and full page ads an even vertical measurement.

    Thought you may want to poll this on your blog to stir up some chatter and also possibly drum up some submissions from smaller tab-size papers. The Catholic Spirit online: http://metuchencatholicspirit.nj.newsmemory.com/ Advance to an inside page to see the folios.

    Thanks,
    Marc

  2. Marc:

    Thanks for your comment.

    Coincidentally, I am now working on a tab redesign and we are placing the folio vertically along the outside edge of each page. It is a bit jarring, I think, but if it helps with ad sizes I’m not against it. It just takes a bit of time for readers to become comfortable with it.

    Yep, I’ll create a poll on this topic soon. Thanks for the idea.

    BTW, I checked the Catholic Spirit redesign. In a word: disappointing.

  3. Like the poll. I was just wondering though, why is it a pet peeve to be challenged to do something at the last minute. I actually think that a designer can rise to the occasion if given the right motivation.

  4. Kristin:
    Being given a challenge at the last minute is OK. Perhaps I didn’t make myself clear: Being given that challenge time and time and time again is a problem. I remember a designer who worked for me once being asked to “work your usual magic” because the city desk—once again—was late with the package. And when you do “work your usual magic,” you end up playing the game their way: They learn that they can push deadlines and not be held accountable for it.

  5. Marc, thanks for posting the Catholic Spirit link because what strikes me from their site is the amazing e-edition! The program must’ve cost them, but it looks incredible.

    The folios are an interesting choice. They don’t leave a lot of breathing room, it seems.

  6. Matt Saxon

    We run our folio vertically along the side & I think it is a great way to use the grey bar as an element.

Leave a Reply

