6 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Judy Salter

    I’m not as opposed to the excess of lines at the top as Ed is. But I think some of your space problems could have been fixed by giving yourself some. Did you really need that logo? If so it seems redundant right under the hed. Also, I hate people without feet if you are going to show any part of the legs. Crop them at the waist and see how much waste you get rid of. Then you could have done a bit more with your excess of people.

  2. My frustration with the page was that it wasn’t in a large enough size for me to read the article! I’m not a fan of the show, but the layout pulled me right in. I wouldn’t have noticed the blotted-out person in the top/tropical photo if it hadn’t been pointed out, and I’m not crazy about the run arounds — but on the whole, I think it’s a very effective package, and it did make me want to read.

    • Anne: I’ll contact Kristin and see if she can’t resend the page. The original file she sent was small. If I can get it larger from Kristin, I’ll post it.

  3. Overall, I really liked the page. I don’t mind cutting off feet because I don’t need to see the Survivor’s feet to help tell the story. Same goes for the palm trees. I know those are palm trees and as a reader I don’t need to see the whole tree to tell what they are. I was a little bothered by what appeared to be a white line running through the center into the type and also what appeared to be different shades of type within the same story. I don’t know if that’s how the full page ran or if it’s just an unavoidable byproduct associated with uploading it to the Web. Otherwise, I’m cool with everything else because I suscribe to the theory that it’s ok to bend the rules on feature pages like this.

Leave a Reply

