13 responses to “Pages from: Michael Smith | Carolina Forest Chronicle

  1. Matt Saxon

    I agree, most pressmen I know would kill me if this much reverse showed up (and I, in turn, would blame them for the roller marks and offset they caused me.) I think the Showtimes seem a little too detached from the poster. Maybe a border linking it with the poster would work. Since those ads most likely have to be there (I’m sure they paid for placement) I would have put the showtimes under the poster. I know it would give you less of a movie poster look, but they might not fall off the page then.

  2. Judy Salter

    I agree. That’s too much reverse — even any other color. Less is always more.

  3. Yeah, we are blessed/cursed with ads on section fronts. Our press can handle reverse type pretty well, which is why I didn’t mind it. Point taken on the show times; it was a last minute decision and it showed. Originally, a story was going to go there, separated by the rule. I still like the idea of devoting the whole front to the story. One final note. I REALLY wish I had ITC Roswell font in my library. That’s the ultra narrow font used at the bottom of movie posters. I know Ed’s a three-font family kind of a guy, but considering the design I would’ve really liked to integrate that font.

    • ITC Roswell is just one of many skinnyskinny fonts out there—and not a bad one. I this case, I’d be willing to look the other way—if you could really do it like a movie poster!

  4. Morgan

    I don’t think this looks at all like a movie poster…if you would not have said it I wouldn’t have known. I’m not sure that the average Joe looking at this paper would either.
    I agree with the black issue….on screen it is nice and bold but off the press it is a nightmare.

    • Yep, I gotta agree with Morgan on this one. It really just looks more like a feature package done in reverse…not a poster. To make this a “poster,” there’d have to be a lot more work done—starting with a more active photo!

  5. I believe the entire page would have been helped if you didn’t do the reverse at all (and I like reverse type.) But the whole package just doesn’t gel with anything else on the page. If you’re going to do a movie poster, then that kind of display doesn’t need to compete with anything else on the page. As it stands it is competing with ads on the bottom, a list at the right and a mast head with a basketball at the very top. It’s just way too much.

  6. Will C. Franklin

    Please forgive me, I’m still battling some sort of bug I seem to have picked up this week, hence my tardiness in responding.

    Now, as for the page, I am really not a fan of reverse type. Sure, there are times to use it, but in most cases, I think you should avoid it at all costs. That being said, I’m going to go against what most folks are saying here and say that I like the CP (FROM ED: I assume “CP”=CenterPiece). Granted, you’re hamstrung by the front-page ads (but hey, I guess we can’t afford to fuss about the ads anymore, wherever we can get them). I think you would have been better served by having a full page here.

    The reason I’m not shaking my head about the reverse type here is because it depends on your press folks. When we were still printing in Rock Hill (before it was all shipped to Charlotte) I made it a point to get to know the folks in the press room very well. For something like this, I would print a color proof, take it to the press guys and get their opinions. Sometimes they would tell me to go with a one-color black, since that would be easier to handle. Of course, with that, the black doesn’t come across as dark as a four-color black. You have to have press guys who know how to handle the press in order to get the right blend. That’s the important thing, one that I recommend to everyone here: Get to know your press people. It helped me time and time again.

    The two things that did kind of irk me (if you will) about the page: The headline (as an outsider, I wasn’t sure what MBIFF meant) and the schedule on the side. Maybe if you were to bring in the CP background a little (maybe 4 1/2 col instead of 5), you could have made the font a little bigger. I know it was one of those “last minute” deals (we all love those!) but I think in this case it might have made a difference. Also, it looks separate from the CP. Maybe think about a way to incorporate the two.

    For the record, and this is for all designers, always be very, very careful when using reverse type, especially when you’re using it for your entire CP package. Every once in awhile, though, I think you should go for it. At the very least, even if it comes out terribly, you learn from it and know what you can and can’t do next time.

    Hope I made sense. I am knocking back the cough syrup trying to get better. :)

    • Will’s point about getting to know your pressmen is important. It’s amazing what they can and will do for you if they’re asked to be part of the solution. And an occasional gift card to a local hangout doesn’t hurt either. I had printers who would have cut off their right arms for me when I worked in the “real world” 20-plus years ago…because I’d occasionally by them a beer late at night at the local newspaper bar. They were good guys who wanted nothing more than the rest of us: The chance to ply their craft and to get a little bit of respect for a job well done.

  7. Yes. CP=centerpiece. Again, still under the spell of a nasty cold/medicine that I believe was intended for a buffalo.

  8. Marc Stumbo

    OK – I’ll take the tardy prize.

    Getting to know your pressman can backfire. A couple thousand years ago, when I was working for a small weekly, I got to know our pressman and was permitted to be at the end of the press during our press run. During one run, as I was pointing out some very obvious problems with ink distribution on our pages (we were printing in color – black) the pressman flipped and walked out of the pressroom – actually left the building – with the Goss Community humming away. Left me standing there – wish I had a picture of my face. The cameraman in prepress doubled as a pressman and saved the day. Still makes me laugh.

    I like the page but it is just not practical on newsprint. Our current printer would be very unhappy if I just submitted this art with no prior contact. They would be much more willing to work with me if I brought them a color proof (per Will) but with our deadlines and their distance from us, that’s generally not possible. On tough print jobs I just send a PDF and communicate via phone/email.

    You can’t expect a single color to cover like that, even on a commercial job on much better stock. However, rich black would surely get the printer to send a posse after you. If this was a sheet fed job on good paper you’d use two colors to get that deep black – either a first hit with 30C or K under the second 100K hit. But even two colors in reverse with all that ink and small serif type on newsprint makes me nervous.

    I like Kristin’s idea – no reverse at all. The first thing I noticed was the competition between the reverse and the ads at the bottom. Like it or not, sometimes editorial layout has to relate to the ads that appear on the page with it.

  9. Thanks for the feedback everyone! I do collaborate with my pressmen and they are great folks. We have a fine press, and reverse type has never backfired since we have a new press. As for making more of a “movie poster,” I did what I could considering time constraints. In the weekly world, in addition to paginators, we’re reporters, photographers, classified ad sales reps, etc., etc., etc. We like good design, but we also like pleasing readers and advertisers too, and in this case the reader and advertiser were pleased :)

Leave a Reply

