3 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Ed, I understand what you’re saying about the balloon behind Kermit. I probably should not have used it in the first place. Because what you didn’t know is that that photo was one of the “local” photos that the girls had taken. The photo was also cut, as in most of the balloon was cutout with scissors. But I liked it because it said Macy’s Thanksgiving parade. So I thought if I covered the cut spot with Kermit that it would look OK. (Now I think I should have just left it out. Sometimes you have to learn from mistakes made.)

    Ooh! you were right about the font type as well. The headline is in Benton, but the body type is in Franklin Gothic. Good eye!

  2. Emily Killian

    I love, love, love this page! It instantly grabs readers and draws them in. Nicely done!

  3. Kristin,

    Love this page (as I do with most of your work). Would have liked to have seen Kermit a little bigger (you know me, I’m always one for elements running into each other). My only concern is the two submitted photos – the Statue of Liberty shot and the walking during the parade shot – seem washed out as opposed to the other colors on the page. Not sure what happened there.

    Again though, I’m glad you do news pages because I sure would hate to go up against you come SC Press awards time. If I don’t see your name on the awards list several times, I’ll raise a big stink!

Leave a Reply

