5 responses to “Page from: Kristin Coker | The Times and Democrat

  1. Will C. Franklin

    Kristin, I love this page. I really do. The only thing that kinda bugs me about it is the Statue of Liberty. I understand using it and I’m not saying it doesn’t look good, but to me it’s almost a bit of a distraction. I wonder what folks would think of the page without the statue there? Does it take away from what you’re doing or the story you’re telling with your design? And I totally agree with Ed: At the end of the day, it’s your page…you’re the one who has to be happy with it.

    Even still, I love this page. Ed, if you take nominations, I’d nominate this one for page of the month, no question.

  2. Lauri Shillings

    I like the statue in the background. It gives you an optical focus, also gives the feeling of ‘freedom’ which I think was the effect the designer was going for.

  3. This is just of note: At the time this “We Will Not Forget” poster was printed our region only had 10 local soldiers killed since the wars began. Last week we had another casualty to add to our list. Please remember soldier Demetrius Void of Orangeburg, S.C., and may he rest in peace.

  4. JN

    This is the first time I’ve thought of the Twin Towers as a symbol for the number 11. I don’t know if that was your intent but your design suggests they’re almost interchangeable, and I like that. Could 9/11 have been a darker blue? I don’t know. I’m looking for something I would change but not finding anything. Don’t doubt the Statue. It works. The design wouldn’t feel New Yorky enough without it, and it speaks in other ways. Great design throughout.

  5. Wouldn’t change a thing. Great page!

Leave a Reply

