Video: Can design save newspapers?

CAN DESIGN SAVE NEWSPAPERS?

Well…YEAH!

And here’s a designer who delivers that message loud and clear. Jacek Utko is an award-winning designer in Europe and his video about newspaper design delivers a powerful message—briefly and to the point.

Utko’s designs are compelling.

Can we expect to see his kind of design in community newspapers here in the US? Perhaps not tomorrow. Eventually? Yes.

The video is six minutes long. Got six minutes to open your mind and expand your horizons? Then go ahead and take a look.

Then…please get back to me with your comments.

2 Comments

Filed under Design, Video

2 responses to “Video: Can design save newspapers?

  1. Lauri Shillings

    Wow! I wish I could effect such change at my newspapers. I feel inspired.

  2. Will C. Franklin

    This is a great video and very inspiring for all designers. The problem I have, though, is that most of those designs are impractical for most papers. We are losing pages, meaning we have to put more on less, so we have to put four or five stories (with art) on section fronts (particularly 1A and sports fronts). I really wish I could paint what I wanted with a blank canvas, but it’s more like fitting puzzle pieces together. Still, that doesn’t mean we all shouldn’t be thinking about being as creative as we can be when it comes to designing pages. I think we should all be as creative as possible. With that in mind, good luck to everyone. At the end of the day, I think we’re all in the same boat to a certain extent.

Leave a Reply

