Weekend’s over. Now for the hangover

I JUST DIDN’T HAVE THE HEART to tell you this during the Glorious Fourth weekend:

The Whitney Houston performance of the National Anthem that I kept at the top of the blog all weekend was…lip-synced. That comes from Joe E. Baker, Editor/Publisher of The Karnes Countywide in Karnes City, TX.

Z HOUSTON SINGSHere’s Joe’s note, from Thursday of last week:

“I hate to rain on your parade, but did you know Whitney’s performance was lip-synced?

She wasn’t singing live, just mouthing the words to a pre-recorded track.

I didn’t find out about it till recently, and it changed the way I think about that performance now. Apparently they do most of these performances this way. I guess what bothers me is the deception. I think the network should let viewers know that what they are hearing is a pre-recorded audio track.

Thanks so much for your blog and articles. Reading these has really greatly enhanced the design of our newspaper!

Hope you have a great 4th of July!”

At first, I wanted to challenge Joe. I didn’t want to believe it. But I did my homework and…Joe is right. As he says, “Apparently, they do most of these performances this way.”

Lip-synced or not, it’s still a great performance. And I’m already thinking of posting it again next year.

God Bless America.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a Reply

